AIM and CubeSats watch impact. Copyright: ESA -

A Space Mission Planning Advisory Group (SMPAG) of Member States with space agencies, facilitated by the United Nations on behalf of the international community, with no financial implications for the budget of the United Nations. Its responsibilities include laying out the framework, timeline and options for initiating and executing response activities, informing the civil-defence community about the nature of impact disasters and incorporating that community into the overall mitigation planning process through an impact disaster planning advisory group.


Pursuant to the General Assembly resolution 71/90, paragraph 9 of 6 December 2016, the United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs serves as the permanent secretariat to SMPAG.

This follows the decision by the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (A/71/20, para. 119) in 2016 that the Office for Outer Space Affairs acting as the permanent secretariat of SMPAG would ensure the continuity of the work of SMPAG, independent of its rotating chairmanship, and would provide for institutional memory in terms of keeping documentation records and ensuring consistent annual reporting to the Committee.


SMPAG members at present include: AEM (Mexico), ASI (Italy), Belspo (Belgium), CNES (France), DLR (Germany), ESA, ISA (Israel), JAXA (Japan), KASI (Republic of Korea), NASA (USA), ROSA (Romania), ROSCOSMOS (Russian Federation), SSAU (Ukraine), SUPARCO (Pakistan), UKSA (UK) and IAWN (ex officio). SMPAG observers at present include: Association of Space Explorers (ASE), International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), International Astronomical Union (IAU), and the United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA).

The current Chair of SMPAG is the European Space Agency (ESA).



Copyright ©2018 UNOOSA, All Rights Reserved